top of page
Aerial View of Waves

No Desk? No Worries!

Make The Most Out Of Limited Space



In my last post, I talked a lot about what I do to make my desk and writing space as cozy as possible to ride out the rest of the cold and snow. But. . . What do you do when you don't have a desk? Or a full computer setup? Or any designated writing space at all, really?

Listen, I spent years writing on nothing but a tiny little tablet with a Bluetooth keyboard - and years more without a real desk. Let alone any kind of apartment where I can set aside a separate office space.

I know a lot of young writers are very limited on space, especially if you're with your family. I also know every housing situation is different, and some of the things I suggest may not work in your home. So take this with a grain of salt and a mind open to adaption, since this is only what I've done and liked (or hated) through trial and error.


 

1. Figure Out Where You Like To Write

Sounds simple enough, right? But you know the drill, it's different for everyone. And I mean everyone. Some people like to have lots of activity going on around them - if this is you, you may enjoy setting up camp in a coffee shop, a bookstore, or Panera. If your house is a busy one, you might even like to hang out in the living room... or wherever your home's Grand Central Station might be. Background noise and movement helps you concentrate, and that's great!

I, for one, completely lose my focus if someone so much as walks past me while I'm trying to write. Libraries are out of the question most of the time, unless I can find a tight and quiet corner where I can put my back to the wall and face the nearest door. Even sitting in the living room, I struggle to write when everyone is at home.

My solution: writing in my bedroom.


 

2. Work-Life Balance? What's That?

I like to joke that my bedroom has become my office, which I also happen to sleep in. The truth is, living with other people in a single-floor house means that my bedroom is pretty much the only space where I can operate and make all the decisions on how it looks and functions. Therefore it's an odd mix of art, music, books, various tools, and equine decor.

As far as separating writing from life, I guess. . . I. . . Don't, really? I keep my bed against one wall and my desk against another, and when I need to step away and focus on something else, it's easy to leave my editing brain in that one room.

However, it hasn't always been that way. Up until the last six months or so, my only real option for a peaceful writing spot was on my bed. Ever tried to prop a tablet on your knees and type on a wireless keyboard balanced across your thighs? Not real comfortable. 1/5 stars, would not recommend.

As far as creating a 'secluded' space to write in, try this: come up with a little 'ritual' before you write, to create a visual or mental separation from times when you're not focused on writing. Make your tea or coffee or whatever, light a candle, turn on music, whatever you need to do to cue your brain that it's time to focus on your book and tune out smaller distractions. (cough like Pinterest cough cough)


 

3. Get Comfy

If you're constantly fidgeting or tense, you're not going to be able to concentrate well. Posture is also a problem for lots of writers; we often find ourselves hunched forward, chest collapsed, breathing shallowly as that dull ache in our back only gets worse. . .

For those of you who like writing at a table, make sure you've got a chair or bench that helps you sit up straight without forcing your spine into some weird angle. I've also heard that setting your laptop on one of those standing desk attachments (I hope I'm remembering that right) and using a wireless keyboard can ease neck strain.

If you're like me, writing on your bed or the floor or a massive armchair, I would definitely recommend investing in a lap desk: a portable cushioned mini-desk, about the size of a briefcase, which will sit comfortably on your legs and also support your wrists while you pound away at your laptop. (Mine was a gift, but I believe the brand name was Sophia + Sam. I still use it often, and it has a ledge that will hold a tablet as well.)

I cannot stress this enough: no matter where you're writing, make sure you have good support for your back. If you can sit cross-legged on the floor for extended periods of time with no problem, good for you. If you need some pillows or a swivel chair to prevent back pain, no shame there. As long as you can spend more time on your book and less time on shifting your aching body, that's a win.


 

Final Thoughts

Sometimes people assume that if you're not sitting at a 'real' desk actively typing nonstop, you're not actually working and therefore just screwing around and not taking this author thing seriously.

That's a load of bilge water.

You don't have to have a fancy (or modern) desk in some isolated mountain or beach house to write a good story. You don't even have to have a computer (though digital format is the most efficient in a number of areas these days.) You can write your first draft on notebook paper with a ball-point pen on a park bench between classes, if you want.

Imposter syndrome is real, and I won't say it isn't. But trust me when I say that most authors don't actually have that dream desk setup, at least not all the time. Dispense with the notion that you have to sell all your furniture and get a desk so you can be a real writer. Our writing processes are all different and unique, so why shouldn't your writing space be too?

We make a living off of being imaginative. Use that wild mind of yours to adapt, utilize what you've got, and find what works for you.


Onward!


- Lydia



P.S. I know you have a super busy, wonderful life that requires your full attention, but before you go, please take time to share this post with any young writers in your life - or on whatever social media platform you bless with your patronage. And if you're new here, please consider subscribing! Not only does it mean you get my bottle-messages about new posts (or unforeseen gales), it goes a long way toward helping me reach more writers with meaningful content.


What's your favorite writing spot? I'd love to hear from you!

댓글


Sail Ho!

_SDT6686 (2).jpg

    I'm Lydia, and I'm here to help you harness your passion to create an earth-shaking career that you love! Stories have power, and it's our job to use that power wisely. I can't wait to join you on your writing journey!

Recent Posts

Sign up for my mailing list
And be the first to know about new posts! Your information won't be used in any other way.

Thanks for subscribing!
  • Facebook
bottom of page