top of page
Aerial View of Waves

3 Tips For Self-Publishing



Gooood morning, mate! Today we're stepping beyond my realm of expertise to explore the world of self-publishing with someone who (ahem) has actually been there.

Lissie is a published author and a fellow blogger who was kind enough to accept my request for a guest post on this topic. So without further ado: Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Lissie Laws' 3 Tips For Self-Publishing!


 

Hello hello, readers!


I come before you with a topic that is somewhat familiar and debatable amongst writers.


Self. Publishing.


Many authors debate over whether to take the self-publishing route or follow the well-worn road to Traditional Publishing.

"You can't possibly get anyone to buy your book if you self-publish," some say from their road of traditional publishing (not all of them say that).

But if you ask me, self-published authors actually do better than traditionally published authors, especially if they market their books right.


But I came here not to talk about the journey of others in self-publishing. I came to give you all my experience and a couple of tips for those pursuing that road.


To begin with, I hadn't seriously begun writing until 2020 struck. Then I suddenly had not as much to do after school was completed for the day, so I turned to writing a story based off of an audio drama my reenactor gals and I were going to put on (we never did finish it).

I joined the Young Writers' Workshop, met a bunch of people, and 'NaNo-ed' my way through that story. I was a very ambitious 13-year-old, and after having several friends from YWW edit the story, I created the cover, signed up on KDP, and after several days of struggling to figure out the system, I finally received the email titled, "Your Book is LIVE on Amazon!"

I was extremely excited, and everywhere I could, I told people that I'd published a book on Amazon and to "check it out!"


As I look back at the process I went through (and the story itself), I cringe at how hastily I did things, and I know why very few people other than friends and family bought the book.

There are three very simple things that needed to happen when I self-published my story, and three very important tips you can use when you self-publish a story.



1. Market Your Story


I know this is the first thing, and this can be terrifying, but if you want people to buy and read your book, you HAVE to get the message out there. This is something I pretty much failed at but have since learned through mentorship from those who have marketed their stories.

In order to effectively market your story, you first need to have a good plan.


  • Have a group of close friends that will be your 'street team' and aid you by keeping their friends updated with your book news. MOST IMPORTANT ASPECT OF MARKETING! They will promote it to their friends, and if those people find your story concept captivating, they will rave about it to their friends and so on.

  • Share it all over! Another important thing to do. SHARE IT! On your Facebook, on your Instagram, on your TikTok (if you have that), on any social media platform that lets you share this! If you don't have social media, then send emails, post it on your blog (if you have one), share with other bloggers!

  • Word of Mouth Tell EVERYONE! Making a library trip? Casually mention your book to the librarian! Meeting someone for coffee? Mention your story. Tell the world that you've got a book on the market!


2. Know The Cost (And Those Involved)

When looking at self-publishing, there are more factors than marketing and getting your book onto the market. And as much as us writers would love for that to happen, you've got to have a bit of 'o' cash to be able to hit all the other factors. Editing, cover design, author copies to sell at in person events, all the jazzy things (during this time, also count in the cost of your mental state and the time you spend ripping your hair out because somehow your editor forgot to send you everything before the deadline).


EDITING:

  Typically, hiring an editor to peruse your work and make sure it's mistake free is anywhere from $300 to $2,000. Typically.If you know a professional editor that you are good friends with, it might be less, or if you have a special discount for an editor's service it could take down your cost.And even though it might cost you a bit more than expected, make sure to hire an editor, to get an extra set of professional eyes on your work.


COVER DESIGN:

  While you can create your own covers for your story just fine, sometimes, a cover designer is just what you might need to convey the story idea to those searching for a good book. Cover designers also know what elements will catch the eyes of your target readers.Cover design can range from $100 to $2,000. From cheaper than editing to just as expensive. But it'll be well worth it in the end.


AUTHOR COPIES:

  Once you publish, ALWAYS buy author copies. Be it five, be it 500, buy them! You never know what in person events you might be able to sell your published story at. the end.


MARKETING:

  I know I just had a whole section on marketing, but if you have enough money, you could place an ad on Amazon, buy some flyers to hand out, or put up some social media ads. I said this before, and I'll say it again. Marketing is a big part of getting your story out there!


MENTAL STATE:

  Yes, I know. You're probably thinking, "Lissie, why do I need to read a section on my mental state? My mom could help me with that!" And she very well could. But writer-to-writer, it's hard to go through these things, reading the edits that your editor makes that take out that one plot twist you love so much. Or when you go into the self-publishing website to make changes to one tiny detail, only to discover the whole thing never saved itself. It can be hard when these things happen.

Don't let them drag you down. Cry for a bit, yes, but pick yourself up again. Learn from these things, grab a snack and a drink, take a walk, and make the changes. Redo the book's profile. Little things can drag you down, but you have the ability to pick yourself up. Look at these setbacks and consider them opportunities to grow!

When you begin this journey, you have to know this will stretch and grow you in many ways. Again, watch for the setbacks and turn the negative, "If my editor wants to cut this scene, what other bits is he cutting that will ruin the story?", into a positive, "I'll ask (editor's name) why he/she is suggesting we cut this scene. There's always a rhyme to the reason."


3. Getting Alpha/Beta Readers

You have a street team picked out to support you. A host of people are eagerly waiting for your story. You've got all the costs carefully marked and are ready to send for the editor. What more could you need?

Alpha and Beta Readers.

While your family has read this story, encouraged you through this process, sometimes you need that group of people that call themselves, "The Alpha/Beta Crew".

The Alpha readers storm in and read your story, providing feedback on plot, characters, settings, and other important details. They usually read the story while it's in its first/second/third draft arena, after you've poured your heart and soul into the edits. It’s okay if the feedback they give pokes holes in your plot. It just gives you an opportunity to grow your story a little more!

After the Alpha readers, comes the Beta readers, with their pens and eagle eyes. They mark spots in the manuscript that need fixing, provide feedback on certain things, and give your manuscript the stamp of approval, letting you know you can hire that editor.

If you are in a writing community, you should have no trouble finding alpha and beta readers. If you aren't, here are some writing communities:

~|~


I've learned a lot from my self-publishing journey and the writing that went with it. I hope these tips provide a starting point for your self-publishing adventure! May your writing be successful and never delete itself randomly.

Sincerely,

Lissie Laws



 

Special thanks to Lissie Laws for guesting this week! Make sure you go support her on her blog!

Onward!


Lydia



Comments


Sail Ho!

_SDT6686 (2).jpg

    I'm Lydia, and I'm here to help you harness your passion to create an earth-shaking career that you love! Stories have power, and it's our job to use that power wisely. I can't wait to join you on your writing journey!

Recent Posts

Sign up for my mailing list
And be the first to know about new posts! Your information won't be used in any other way.

Thanks for subscribing!
  • Facebook
bottom of page