top of page
Aerial View of Waves

Book Recommendation

Capital Gaines: Smart Things I Learned Doing Stupid Stuff


A few weeks ago, I was on a road trip with my mom on our way to an audition in Pennsylvania. Now I love to read, but I also love to look out the window while we're driving through uncharted territory. The solution to this is that we often listen to audiobooks on trips like this, and at the beginning of our drive we came across this one: Capital Gaines: Smart Things I Learned Doing Stupid Stuff.

My family first learned of the Gaines family and their business(es) while Fixer Upper was airing on HGTV. Since the show ended, we've continued to follow some of the things they're doing in their community, and had the opportunity to read a few of their books. I was super excited to find that not only had Chip written his own book, but the audio version was recorded with his and Joanna's voices - and I don't think it could have been anywhere as fun to listen to any other way.


What's interesting, at least to me, is that the photo you see above is NOT the original cover of the book. There's actually a short chapter that dives into the story of the original cover photo, and after looking it up it makes a lot more sense. I think either one would have done a fine job of capturing his personality, but for the tone of this book - gritty, honest, and as raw and real as the dirt under your fingernails after a good day's work - I see why the original was his first choice. (Look it up - it's so worth it.)


This book isn't exactly aimed toward young adults; it's just an honest autobiography, but what makes it different are the little (and not so little) encouraging speeches Chip so cleverly weaves into his narrative. In the space of what amounts to a single page, he managed to make me laugh out loud one moment and feel ready to grab the world by its horns the next. That's what I love about Chip Gaines: his passion and enthusiasm for life and God are palpable, even through a years-old audio recording.


I'm not sure how I'll read this book when I'm forty; I'll have a very different perspective than I have now. But as a young adult, I can tell you I found Chip's enthusiasm and humility inspiring. I'm the type of person who locks my car after getting out and agonizes over making a phone call - but that's not to say I live in a bottle of anxiety. After reading (hearing?) the chapter titled Fear-Less, I certainly don't want to. I think we could all stand to be a little more like Chip, even us introverts: honest, unafraid of failure, and excited about life.


Overall, I would absolutely recommend this book - especially if you're not sure what your goals are yet, or if you're in a season of waiting. I promise you, when you put it down, you'll have all the inspiration you need to grab the world by its ear and discover (or rediscover) your passion.


Best of luck to you on your writing journey, mate!


- Lydia

Comments


Sail Ho!

_SDT6686 (2).jpg

    I'm Lydia, and I'm here to help you harness your passion to create an earth-shaking career that you love! Stories have power, and it's our job to use that power wisely. I can't wait to join you on your writing journey!

Recent Posts

Sign up for my mailing list
And be the first to know about new posts! Your information won't be used in any other way.

Thanks for subscribing!
  • Facebook
bottom of page