top of page
Aerial View of Waves

5 Books To Read At Christmas

My Personal Favorites!

AND WE'RE BACK, BABY! November was fun (mostly) and productive (mostly) but I missed being here.

'Kay, that's enough of an intro. Here's my top 5 list of books to read during the Christmas season!


 

#1. The Immortal Nicholas (Glenn Beck)

This is my favorite Christmas novel so far. 'Nuff said.

The Immortal Nicholas was first conceived as a kind of counterargument to the secular idea of Santa Claus. Through a tasteful mix of fictional license and real-world events, and taking inspiration from people who did exist, Beck's novel dives deep into the past and the story we think we know - and goes on to tie in the manger and the star to the cross, then to the early centuries of the church. . . And beyond.

The main character's arc gets rather dark at times, including the first handful of chapters, but I think it makes the finale so much more impactful. I try to read this book every year around Christmas to remind myself that not only is the tradition of Saint Nicholas rooted in truth, but that it is also acceptable to believe in the 'magic' of Christmas without losing sight of what it all means.

(Note: The story depicts several character deaths of varying severity, though with little gore, and one character attempts to take their own life at a certain point.)


 

#2. Little House in the Big Woods (Laura Ingalls Wilder)

I know, this isn't exactly a Christmas story - but you will never feel more cozy warm fluff than curled up on a cold day while reading the first 8 chapters of this book. (Sugar Snow and Dance At Grandpa's are my favorites.)

I grew up reading the Little House books, especially the first one (since that's the one we owned). The paperback cover is long lost, and the spine and pages show years of wear and love, but there's just something about my old copy of Little House in the Big Woods that radiates the comfort and warmth of a simpler time. (I say that very tongue-in-cheek; no point in history has been simple.) I haven't read this book all the way through in several years, so I'm looking forward to it this month.


 

#3. The Advent Storybook (Antonie Schneider)

I can't even tell you where or when my family got this book - it's been around for as long as I can remember. Over the years, we've fallen out of the habit of reading one story each night in December - but the book itself still has a prominent place among our Christmas decorations, and at the beginning and end of the Advent season I usually manage to curl up with it to reread the stories and soak in the beautiful artwork. It's just not Christmas without it.

All that to say, if you have a book of Advent stories in your house, there's no better time to revisit it.


 

#4. The Lion, The Witch, & The Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)

This is the perfect cozy fantasy to curl up with on a chilly evening. Not only is there a certain Christmas scene in the story, but the whole first half is centered around an old mansion during a rainstorm and a snowy wood filled with magical creatures.

Of course, I also associate the movie with Christmas because the first time I watched the majority of it, I was sick to my stomach and had to stay home instead of celebrating with extended family.

C. S. Lewis' description of a forest locked in the dead of a century-long winter lives in my mind as one of the most iconic fantasy settings ever written. 'Always winter, but never Christmas' - because as long as the White Witch is in power, no warmth or beacon of hope can enter Narnia. But the moment she starts to weaken, the moment Aslan's presence approaches, the first sign of winter's passing appears in the form of Father Christmas.

I find it interesting that rather than have all the snow and ice melt away immediately, Lewis chose to introduce a familiar figure from our world who is already associated with the celebration of Christ's light during the darkest days of the year. Father Christmas serves as a kind of harbinger, reinforcing the belief that Aslan is on the move - and that things are about to change.

I don't know how else to explain it, except that I believe there's a parallel between our celebration of Christmas complete with the tradition of Saint Nicholas (who has become a figure associated with the arrival of wonder and joy at Christmastime) and the appearance of the same in Narnia, foreshadowing the coming of someone greater.


 

#5. The Nutcracker and the Mouse King (E. T. A. Hoffman)

Last on the list, and a book that I only recently read all the way through for the first time, is E.T.A. Hoffman's The Nutcracker and the Mouse King. The base for the story of the famous ballet, this book is perfect if you fancy an older, more European idea of Christmas - along with a rather 'gilded' side of fantasy that can be exciting, very strange, and a little spooky all at once.

Ironically enough, as many years as I've been going to see the ballet and enjoying the music, I had only read a small portion of this book until this year. I found a decent audio recording and listened all the way through it in about 3 hours (counting a few pauses); you could probably sit down and read it in an evening, so this would be a good book for Christmas Eve or for the lax time after everyone's eaten and gone off to take a nap.

If you've already read this one and aren't sure what the point is, here's my interpretation: Imagination is a gift that should not be set aside as one ages. The reason young children see so much wonder in the world is that they still have their eyes open to it; it's always there, but only for those who go looking for it. The rest only hear silly stories and dreams. Our imagination is the lens through which we were meant to see everything, and the world is so much duller without it.

A good thing to remember around Christmas, I think.


 

There you go: Five very atmospheric books to add to your TBR this season! I'll see you again between Christmas and New Year's, with an end-of-year recap and some exciting updates to share!

May your days be merry and bright and full of wonder.


Merry Christmas!



1 comentario


Invitado
15 dic 2023

I will definitely be listening to The Nutcracker and the Mouse King soon! Thanks for recommending!

Me gusta

Sail Ho!

_SDT6686 (2).jpg

    I'm Lydia, and I'm here to help you harness your passion to create an earth-shaking career that you love! Stories have power, and it's our job to use that power wisely. I can't wait to join you on your writing journey!

Recent Posts

Sign up for my mailing list
And be the first to know about new posts! Your information won't be used in any other way.

Thanks for subscribing!
  • Facebook
bottom of page