top of page
Aerial View of Waves

This Video Essay Almost Brought Me To Tears...

Hey friends!

I came across this video today that feels like a companion to the thoughts I was trying to sum up a while ago in my Importance of Art posts. If you've ever felt that sense of longing after finishing a good fantasy novel or film, I recommend you check this out! (And yes, I had to just take a bad screenshot for this. Everything within and about this video belongs to its creator.)


 

As a tween (and teen... and child) I tended to cling to fantasy a little too hard sometimes, often crying because I suspected it wasn't 'real', and I struggled to articulate why films such as Prince Caspian and Tangled made me feel this way. I understand now that it was out of a deep and overwhelming longing for heaven and the Garden of Eden, worlds that - for us, as of yet - are mere echoes reverberating through the fantasy genre.


My family and I have spent the last five months grieving and caring for my aunt, who suffered a heart attack in February. She passed away on July 9th, and we celebrated her life and love for God yesterday.

It took me a long time to get out of bed this morning.

But to wake up, and see this video first thing (after chores), was the reminder I needed that the work I do is still important. Now more than ever. And I know that having lived through many seasons of pain and darkness, God is making me that much more able to help others see light. The weight on my shoulders this morning isn't any lighter, but thinking about humble kings and quiet gardeners makes my back feel a little stronger.


Thank you so much for your love and support and the prayers throughout the last five months - it's all felt. Trust me.

Oh, and last week's writers conference was a blast! I'll have to tell you all about it sometime. (I actually took notes on every session - I never take notes. lol)


- Lydia


2 Comments


Guest
Jul 26

Keep growing and sharing. Love to read your work and your thoughts. -Tammy

Like
Unknown member
Jul 26
Replying to

Thank you! ❤️

Like

Sail Ho!

_SDT6686 (2).jpg

    I'm Lydia, and I'm here to help you harness your passion to create an earth-shaking career that you love! Stories have power, and it's our job to use that power wisely. I can't wait to join you on your writing journey!

Recent Posts

Sign up for my mailing list
And be the first to know about new posts! Your information won't be used in any other way.

Thanks for subscribing!
  • Facebook
bottom of page