top of page
Aerial View of Waves

New Series Launch!

Writing A Book From Start To Finish



*Checks calendar*

*Checks it again*

*Squeals*

*Grabs megaphone and leaps onto the roof of the nearest building*

LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, I'M ECSTATIC TO ANNOUNCE MY FIRST MULTI-MONTH BLOG SERIES!




Okay, here's the deal: I've been wanting to create a series of posts (meaning more than two) that dig really deep into one subject in a continuous, kind of chronological order. And since this is, in fact, a blog about writing. . . I figured I should do a series on. . . Writing.

Specifically writing a novel.

But some things will apply to short stories and nonfiction too!

This is NOT going to be a study on story structure, or why you should use one method over all the others. Neither am I going to hold your hand through the plotting and outlining process; this is going to be an expedition into the writing journey and the art of storytelling. (Also, I'm a pantser with no regard for outlines or tangible note keeping whatsoever.)

We're going to start with chapter one. Literally, how to write chapter one of your book in a way that reels your reader in and makes them fall in love with your characters. From there, we'll forge our way through each main story beat one at a time until we reach the final chapter! (I may also throw in a bonus post on writing acknowledgments - let me know if that's something you're interested in!)

So this series will be a hybrid between all the how-to knowledge I've gained so far, and a peek into my personal writing process - the idea being that when we're done, you'll have some building blocks for developing your own process.

One more thing: Over the summer, I'm going to see if I can post something every week instead of just every other week. The first series post goes up next Thursday, so be sure to share this with all your writing buddies. I can't wait to get started!

See you down at the docks, mate!


- Lydia

1 Kommentar


Gast
19. Mai 2023

Great idea! Looking forward to future posts!

Gefällt mir

Sail Ho!

_SDT6686 (2).jpg

    I'm Lydia, and I'm here to help you harness your passion to create an earth-shaking career that you love! Stories have power, and it's our job to use that power wisely. I can't wait to join you on your writing journey!

Recent Posts

Sign up for my mailing list
And be the first to know about new posts! Your information won't be used in any other way.

Thanks for subscribing!
  • Facebook
bottom of page