top of page
Aerial View of Waves

How I Actually Enjoy Writing In Winter

Tips & Tricks For A Cozy Writing Haven



Winter in Colorado never really sets in until January. Most of our snow falls in February and March - if we get much at all - though it rarely stays for more than a couple of days. Of course, by now, most people are tired of winter (and tired of being in limbo with sweaters one day and T-shirts the next), and burnout is an ever-present threat. The days are still short, but the weather fluctuates as if to see if it can trick us into thinking it's spring before throwing down another blustery, miserable day.

A lot of people - and a lot of creatives - tend to struggle during this time of year, no matter what latitude they live in.

I get it. Christmas is over, being cold isn't fun, and with all the wind we get, sometimes going out to get some sun just doesn't feel like an option.

But I have to tell you, winter is actually my second favorite season (next to fall) because even after Christmas and the turn of the year, there's still a lot of potential for some lovely cozy days. And I can get behind the cozy a lot easier than I can get behind sunburn and sweat stains aND ALLERGY SEASON AND SNAKES AND what was I talking about?

Whether you like winter or not, here are things you can do to embrace some coziness in your writing life while we wait for things to thaw out.


 

Candles

I think I'm developing a candle obsession. I love burning candles, I love storing candles, I love looking at candles. BUT BEFORE YOU SPRINT TO THE NEAREST BATH & BODY WORKS, take a word of caution: most candles you find in a store, unless otherwise marked, are made with paraffin wax. Paraffin is a petroleum by-product, which is known to contain chemicals and carcinogens. It also produces a lot of soot, which means you'll have to clean containers often - and when you do, you want to keep it away from anything you use for food.

Luckily, paraffin wax isn't the only candle material out there. Beeswax, palm wax, and - my favorite - soy wax candles are all on the market. If you're shopping, I would look specifically for one of these more natural options. If you're like me and thinking 'why buy a candle when I can make a bunch of my own', there are a myriad of candle supply brands that can be shipped right to your door, including some who sell DIY-ready wax from soybeans grown within the US.


Okay, with that out of the way, here's how I use candles to skyrocket my writing space's cozy factor. Come closer.

A little closer.

*whispering*

Candles. Candles everywhere.

I have two container candles (aka mason jar 'emergency' candles) on my desk at any given time, ready to light as soon as I have an excuse. (It's overcast, it's raining, it's sunset, I need the room to smell like a tropical paradise, etc.) I store the rest around my bookshelf, and sometimes I'll set one on my nightstand too. Because it's important to let a soy candle melt all the way to the edge of the container, this gives me up to a couple of hours to write by candlelight and pretend the coconut scent is real. Adds to the immersion factor, y'know.


 

Ambience

Speaking of immersion, let's talk about the ambience side of YouTube.

I may have mentioned this before: when I'm writing, I have some kind of specific ambience playing just as (or more) often as I have music playing. Sometimes it has something to do with the setting my characters are in, but sometimes I just want to feel like I'm sitting in a castle library with the fireplace crackling and rain pounding the windows.

Or maybe I'm in a tiny mountainside cabin, walled in by snowdrifts until spring.

Or I'm on a solo camping trip in South America, taking a few minutes to write late at night - and there's something out there, but it doesn't sound like any animal I've ever heard...

The fact that you can make your search pretty specific and still have plenty of results to choose from is quite cool. You may have to be a little creative the first few times around, though, depending on your preferences. And of course, all YouTube content is not equal - but be open to following the little guy instead of the 700K-subscriber channel. They're creatives too, just trying to beat the algorithm and find what works.

P.S. You can also leave some ambience going on full screen when you get up to do something else. This works really well if it's cold out, and you don't have a fireplace in your home to provide that cozy burning wood sound.


 

Dress To Impress

...Even if it's only to impress yourself.

I don't always do this, but there are days when I just need to put a little more effort into my outfit if I want to feel alert and healthy. (T-shirts and yoga pants don't always cut it.) If it's cold, I'll wear a nice sweater or my favorite hoodie. I try to do something different with my hair at least once a week, even if that means putting a scarf in it after it's braided. There are a few extra-special fantasy-inspired pieces of jewelry in my closet, which I wear if the mood strikes me. And of course, showering consistently and wearing clean clothes go a long way toward feeling better in the middle of winter.

Even if you live alone, and you don't plan to go anywhere today, dress up for yourself! It can't hurt anything, and who's going to stop you?


 

Hot Drinks

If all you drink is coffee, you can ignore this part.

I myself find coffee to be way too bitter, even if it's loaded with a ton of milk and sugar. So I drink tea, and lots of it: in the morning, at dinner, before bed, and especially in winter.

I also make chai once in a while, and I'm sure you remember how much I love my homemade hot chocolate. (If you missed that post, you can find it and the recipe here!) I've never been one to need a lot of caffeine, but having something in a mug that I can sip on at my desk makes those long days of editing a lot easier. Plus, it helps fight the imposter syndrome. Don't ask me why.


 

Final Thoughts

Late winter can be tough. Daylight Savings doesn't help. The stress of deciding if the roads are safe to drive is exhausting. But griping about every aspect of winter only makes it feel longer, and it can demoralize those of us who like the snow. Complaining certainly never helped anyone, anyway.

You don't have to like winter. You don't have to do any of the things I mentioned - but who knows? They might help, and you might find yourself having some really great creative times between now and summer. It's just between you and me, and I won't tell a soul.

Onward!


- Lydia



Feel free to go to the comments and start a conversation! What are some things you do to manage cabin fever as a writer?

Sail Ho!

_SDT6686 (2).jpg

    I'm Lydia, and I'm here to help you harness your passion to create an earth-shaking career that you love! Stories have power, and it's our job to use that power wisely. I can't wait to join you on your writing journey!

Recent Posts

Sign up for my mailing list
And be the first to know about new posts! Your information won't be used in any other way.

Thanks for subscribing!
  • Facebook
bottom of page